jun-07_tomato-and-red-pepper-soup_b_330x330

Eat well live better: Tomato & Red Pepper soup

As you can see I’ve added a new section. About food and recipes. I will explain why. The other day when made ​​the post, about  Barcelona I realized that, apart  from traveling other thing I liked more was cooking. Some time ago I discovered that when I was stressed I relaxed cutting vegetables .
I love preparing healthy food for  friends. I don’t know if the fact of being vegetarian, has influenced me  to discover the diversity of recipes that I know now. But now I can made more than twenty recipes with vegetables.
Thank you very much for visiting my new section.
We keep  in touch.

Today:

Tomato & Red  Pepper  soup

Perfect for  winter  time

 

A dash of extra virgin olive oil and fresh basil makes this simple tomato and red pepper soup recipe oh-so special. Best of all, it takes just 10 minutes to prepare. An easy – and tasty – way to beat the chill.

 Ingredients

  • 2tbsp olive oil
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 2 large red peppers, seeds removed and roughly chopped
  • 2 cloves garlic, chopped
  • 600g (21oz) ripe tomatoes, quartered
  • 1 x 400g (14oz) tin chopped tomatoes
  • 1l chicken stock or vegetable stock
  • 1tbsp chopped fresh basil, to garnish
  • Extra virgin olive oil, to garnish

How to made:

  1. Heat the olive oil in a large saucepan. Sauté the onion, peppers, and garlic for about 5 minutes. Add the fresh tomatoes and cook for another 3-4 minutes.
  2. Add the tinned tomatoes, the stock and 1 (250ml) cup of water. Bring to the boil, reduce the heat and simmer for 30 minutes.
  3. Remove from the heat and allow to cool a little. Purée the soup in batches in a food processor or with a hand-held blender. Strain through a coarse sieve and add a little extra stock, if desired.
  4. Season to taste with salt and freshly ground black pepper. Serve hot, and garnished with the basil and a drizzle of extra virgin olive oil.

Enjoy.

 

Responder

